sdcc history img 01

The town of Simpson developed from the site and buildings of the original administration centre of the Heytesbury Settlement Scheme. In 1959 the town was named in honour of Mr H L Simpson, Chairman of the Soldier Settlement Commission. The Ministry of Housing put forth a plan of subdivision for a housing Commission Estate in 1966 and so began the growth of the township. In 1985 a survey of residents uncovered a need for improvement in social and recreational services. The premises at 11 Jayarra Street were allocated by the Ministry of Housing for use as a Neighbourhood House. The Simpson & District Community Centre became an incorporated association on 2nd September 1985.